Final Fantasy XIV Patch 6.1 Newfound Adventure Detailed

Square Enix held its latest Letter from the Producer Live presentation for MMORPG Final Fantasy XIV. During the presentation, director and producer Naoki Yoshida provided details on the game’s upcoming Patch 6.1 update. The update is titled Newfound Adventure and is set to release in mid-April 2022.

Newfound Adventure will feature new main scenario quests and the start of a new story arc following the events of Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker. It will also add a new dungeon and the first part of the new Tataru’s Grand Endeavor sidequest chain. Other new content coming in Patch 6.1 includes a new Trial, a new Unreal Trial titled Ultima’s Bane, and the first part of the new Myths of the Realm Alliance Raid. Patch 6.11 will also add the Dragon’s Reprise Ultimate Duty, while content titled Omega: Beyond the Rift will release in a currently-unspecified later update. The subsequent Patch 6.15 will include The Arkasodara Tribe Quests as well as the first part of the Somehow Further Hildibrand Adventures sidequest chain.



As previously revealed, the update will include adjustments to the final parts of the A Realm Reborn main scenario, with the Duty Support System — a new name for the main scenario part of the Trust System where NPCs join the player for certain dungeons — made available for the relevant content from it. It will also make the plots in the new Empyreum player housing district available to purchase through a lottery system. PvP changes included in Patch 6.1 feature the addition of the Crystalline Conflict PvP mode, alterations to PvP actions and a new reward system, and the ending of The Feast mode.

Patch 6.1 will introduce new Adventurer Plates — initially revealed as “Calling Cards” — which is a new profile display feature that lets players customise their character portraits. It will also add a new feature called the Unending Codex. This acts as a glossary of characters and terms from the game through to its version 6.0 content, though some entries will not be immediately available. The Unending Codex will be unlocked as part of the Newfound Adventure main scenario. Other additions include version 6.0 content being added to the New Game+ mode, new Hrothgar hairstyles, and more glamour plates.

Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker is the fourth expansion to the MMORPG — following Heavensward, Stormblood, and Shadowbringers — and was released for PC, Mac, PlayStation 4, and PlayStation 5 in December 2021. Those looking to read more about Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker can check out RPGamer’s review of the PlayStation 5 version, with it appearing multiple times in RPGamer’s 2021 Awards.


Full Presentation (Japanese audio only, English slides)


Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply