New Release Round-Up (September 1, 2022)

Welcome to RPGamer’s new release round-up. In this column we look to provide our readers with details on all of the RPGs released over the week. Please note we do not currently include Early Access releases where the game is still in development.

ANNO: Mutationem

Platform: Nintendo Switch (previously released on PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5)
Publisher: Lightning Games
Developer: ThinkingStars Studio
Available: Nintendo eShop
Price: $24.99

Action RPG ANNO: Mutationem takes place in a cyberpunk setting and uses 3D environments with pixelated 2D characters. The game follows Ann Flores, supported by her hacker friend Ayane, as she looks for the whereabouts of her brother. It includes 3D exploration with 2D combat as well as numerous sidequests including a bartender mini-game. Those looking to read more about the game can check out RPGamer’s review of its PlayStation 5 version.

Dusk Diver 2

Platform: PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Nintendo Switch (previously released on PC)
Publisher: Idea Factory
Developer: WANIN Games
Available: PlayStation Store, Nintendo eShop
Price: $49.99

Dusk Diver 2 is a sequel to 2019’s Dusk Diver and released for PC in February 2022. The game is a 3D action RPG set in Taipei’s Ximending district. It follows returning protagonist and freshman university student Yang Yumo as she fights against demonic invasions with the support of guardian spirits. Those looking to read more about Dusk Diver 2 can check out Jon Jansen’s review of the PlayStation 5 version.

Fairy Elements

Platform: PC, PlayStation 4, PlayStation 5, Nintendo Switch (previously released on iOS, Android)
Publisher: KEMCO
Developer: Exe Create
Available: Steam, PlayStation Store, Xbox Store, Nintendo eShop
Price: $14.99 (10% launch discount)

Fairy Elements follows Yamato, a knight who saves his kingdom with a magical sword. However, he is transported 200 years into the future, where he meets a girl and a mysterious creature embarking on a new adventure. The game focuses heavily on fortifying weapons and armour, including an option for players to battle at any point to obtain resources used for fortification.

La Pucelle: Ragnarok / Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure

Platform: PC, Nintendo Switch (La Pucelle: Ragnarok previously released on PlayStation Portable / Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure previously released on PlayStation, Nintendo DS)
Publisher: NIS America
Developer: Nippon Ichi Software
Available: Steam (La Pucelle / Rhapsody), Nintendo eShop (bundle)
Price: $19.99 each (PC), $39.99 bundle (Switch)

La Pucelle: Ragnarok and Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure launch the NIS Classics Volume 3 remaster collection, with both taking place in the same world. La Pucelle: Ragnarok is an enhanced version of PlayStation 2 title La Pucelle: Tactics. The game takes place in the kingdom Paprica and centres on the city of Pot a Feu’s Church of the Holy Maiden that has a group of demon hunters known as La Pucelle. Its newest member, sixteen-year-old Prier, hopes to become the Maiden of Light destined to challenge the Dark Prince with the help of her twelve-year-old brother.

Rhapsody: A Musical Adventure is the first title in the Marl Kingdom series that acts as a precursor to the Disgaea series. Rhapsody follows Cornet, a girl who is able to talk to puppets, and Kururu, a puppet with a human soul. They attempt to save Prince Ferdinand after he is turned to stone by a witch.

Made in Abyss: Binary Star Falling into Darkness

Platform: PC, PlayStation 4, Nintendo Switch
Publisher: Spike Chunsoft, Numskull Games
Developer: Chime Corporation
Available: Steam, PlayStation Store, Nintendo eShop
Price: $59.99 (10% launch discount on PS Plus, Switch)

Made in Abyss: Binary Star Falling into Darkness is based on the Made in Abyss manga/anime series. The series is set around a giant hole in the earth named Abyss, which holds remnants of a long-gone civilisation. The game features two story modes: Hello Abyss, a retelling of the Made in Abyss manga/anime series, and Deep in Abyss, an original story supervised by series creator Akihito Tsukushi where players control a customised Cave Raider who embarks on solo expeditions.

Phantasy Star Online 2 / Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis

Platform: PlayStation 4 (previously released on PC, Xbox One)
Publisher: Sega
Developer: Sega
Available: PlayStation Store (New Genesis) (Phantasy Star Online 2 available as add-on)
Price: Free-to-play

MMORPG Phantasy Star Online 2 was originally released for PC in Japan in 2012, and finally got a international release in 2020. The game, and its predecessor Phantasy Star Online, are spin-offs to the main Phantasy Star series, taking place in a separate galaxy. Meanwhile, Phantasy Star Online 2: New Genesis is a new game that runs alongside Phantasy Star Online 2. It takes place 1,000 years after the events of Phantasy Star Online 2, is set on a new world, and features a redesigned graphics engine, as well as a new multi-weapon system and abilities.

The Dragoness: Command of the Flame

Platform: PC
Publisher: PQube
Developer: Crazy Goat Games
Available: Steam
Price: $19.99 (10% launch discount)

The Dragoness: Command of the Flame is a strategy RPG heavily inspired by Heroes of Might & Magic. The game sees players commanding a force on the Drairthir Peninsula at the behest of the eponymous Dragoness. Players rebuild the kingdom’s ruined capital city of Níwenborh while recruiting an army of beasts and completing quests across numerous maps. Those looking to read more about The Dragoness: Command of the Flame can check out RPGamer’s interview with Crazy Goat Games’s Janina Wojciechowska and Maciej Struzyna.

Sales Links


Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply