Diablo IV, World of Warcraft: Shadowlands Announced

Blizzard Entertainment opened this year’s BlizzCon in Anaheim today, announcing a brand new Diablo title and a new World of Warcraft expansion during its opening ceremony. The first of those, Diablo IV, is being developed for PC, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One. A nine-minute cinematic trailer and a three-minute gameplay trailer offer first looks at the title, which is set many years after the events of Diablo III.

Three character classes have been revealed for Diablo IV alongside its initial announcement. The Barbarian is a melee-focused class which uses the Arsenal system that allows them to carry four different weapons and switch between them on the fly. The Sorceress is designed to harken back to Diablo II, using element spells to defeat enemies. The Druid is a shapeshifter and switches between werewolf, werebear, and human forms. More details about the game can be found on its official website.

Meanwhile, World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is the eighth major expansion to MMORPG World of Warcraft and is planned for release in 2020. The expansion sees players venturing into the Shadowlands, the realm of the dead, after Sylvanas Windrunner pierces the veil between it and Azeroth.

Shadowlands will include five new zones: the gleaming fields of Bastion, the scarred battlefields of Maldraxxus, the eternal twilight of Ardenweald, the opulent keeps of Revendreth, and the horrific Maw. Players will forge a bond with one of the four Covenants that hold domain over the Shadowlands’ planes, each of which has its own campaign and new class-specific abilities. Shadowlands will also feature Torghast, Tower of the Damned, an otherwordly prison that offers a replayable, roguelike-inspired experience.

The release of Shadowlands will include a brand-new leveling system. All current max level characters will begin Shadowlands at level 50 with a new level cap of 60. The expansion will also allow pandaren and all allied races to become Death Knights and will add further appearance options for all races.

World of Warcraft: Shadowlands is now available to pre-purchase with three different options. The cheapest is the $39.99 Base Edition. Next is the $59.99 Heroic Edition, which includes a level-120 character boost, which will correspond to level 50 in Shadowlands, and the Ensorcelled Everwyrm mount, which grants access to a questline that provides the Vestments of the Eternal Traveler transmogrification set. The third edition is the $79.99 Epic Edition, which includes the contents of the Heroic Edition plus an Anima Wyrmling pet, the Wraithchill cosmetic weapon effect, the Eternal Traveler’s Hearthstone, and 30 days of game time.


Diablo IV




World of Warcraft: Shadowlands




Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply