Ciel nosurge DX, Ar nosurge DX Get New Media

Koei Tecmo and Gust have provided new media for the upcoming DX remasters of Ciel nosurge: Ushinawareta Hoshi e Sasagu Uta (“Ode to a Lost Star”) and Ar nosurge: Ode to an Unborn Star. The new Japanese media includes screenshots of both titles as well as a combined  trailer. The companies also held a Japanese livestream for the games — and Atelier Ryza 2 — during which they showed off some gameplay.

Grouped together under the moniker Surge Concerto, the games are loosely connected to the Ar tonelico series. Ciel nosurge was originally released for PlayStation Vita in Japan in 2012 as an online title, with an offline version released in 2014, and was not released outside of Japan. Ar nosurge is a sequel to Ciel nosurge but did get released in North America and Europe. Ar nosurge was originally released for PlayStation 3 in 2014, with a Plus version released for PlayStation Vita in 2015 (2014 in Japan). The DX versions will be released in Japan for PC, PlayStation 4, and Nintendo Switch and will come with the “majority” of the DLC released for each game. Western releases of the DX versions have not been announced at this time.


Ciel nosurge DX Screenshots


Ar nosurge DX Screenshots


Combined Trailer



Ciel nosurge gameplay — 50:07 to 53:05 / 53:20 to 55:23
Ar nosurge gameplay — 58:33 to 1:02:14 / 1:02:39 to 1:04:12


Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. Xoco Xoco says:

    Atlier BotW!? Actually that seems like a really good combination. I hope they dn’t have a time limit for this one, then I’m getting it 100%

Leave a Reply