Lots of Etrian Odyssey X Details Revealed

Following the game’s announcement last week, Atlus has released a large amount of information and images for the upcoming Etrian Odyssey X. The game is set on the on the remote island of Lemuria and the floating city of Maginia, where adventurers from many nations gather under the decree of Princess Persephone to investigate the island and find whatever treasure lurks there. At the heart of the island is the world tree Yggdrasil, at the foot of which is said to be the greatest treasure of the island’s former civilisation.

Etrian Odyssey X features nineteen classes, eighteen from the previous games in the series plus the new Hero class, which uses a sword and shield and is strong in both attack and defence. The full list of classes, and the game that each first appeared in is as follows:

  • Hero (Etrian Odyssey X)
  • Paladin (Etrian Odyssey)
  • Bushido (Etrian Odyssey)
  • Medic (Etrian Odyssey)
  • Ranger (Etrian Odyssey)
  • Gunner (Etrian Odyssey II)
  • War Magus (Etrian Odyssey II)
  • Highlander (Etrian Odyssey II)
  • Prince/Princess  (Etrian Odyssey III)
  • Shogun (Etrian Odyssey III)
  • Zodiac (Etrian Odyssey III)
  • Shinobi (Etrian Odyssey III)
  • Farmer (Etrian Odyssey III)
  • Landsknecht (Etrian Odyssey IV)
  • Nightseeker (Etrian Odyssey IV)
  • Arcanist (Etrian Odyssey IV)
  • Imperial (Etrian Odyssey IV)
  • Pugilist (Etrian Odyssey V)
  • Harbinger (Etrian Odyssey V)

Except for the Highlandser (which has two), each of the classes has four appearance templates, with players able to adjust the eye, hair, and skin colours of those templates as they wish. Players can also choose from sixty voices from thirty-three Japanese voice actors for their party members.




The series’ traditional dungeon-crawling gameplay with players drawing a map as they go through it returns, however, there is an auto-mapping feature. Etrian Odyssey X is set to feature the largest area of any Etrian Odyssey game to date, with players moving between differeny labyrinths via the world map. There are both large main labyrinths and smaller side labyrinths to explore.

Etrian Odyssey X looks to implement various systems from throughout the series’ history. Examples confirmed are the Force Break and Force Burst systems from Etrian Odyssey 2 Untold, the sub-class system from Etrian Odyssy III and IV, and the increased character customisation and difficulty options from Etrian Odyssey V.



Maginia, the floating city that acts as a base for adventures will have over twenty NPCs as well as various facilities to assist players. Vivian (and her cat Merlin) works as the receptionist at the Lady of the Lake Cottage that acts as an inn and somewhere store items. Napier is a trader who sell items, weapons, and armour at her store, which also offers blacksmithing services. Kvasir runs a bar that provides both quests and information to adventurers. Muller runs the Adventurer’s Guild, where new party members can be registered. Princess Persephone herself runs the Exploration Headquarters, which issues important missions to players. There are also some other returning characters from the series, including Shilleka and Wiglaf.

Etrian Odyssey X is the sixth mainline game and will be the final title in the series for Nintendo 3DS. The game will be released in Japan on August 2, 2018, with no news regarding a localisation at this stage.




Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

1 Response

  1. JCServant JCServant says:

    So. Much. Etrian. Goodness. Head, exploding…!!!

Leave a Reply