Kingdom Hearts Series Heading to Switch

Square Enix announced that as part of its twentieth anniversary celebrations for the Kingdom Hearts series, it is releasing the series on Nintendo Switch. Kingdom Hearts HD I.5 + II.5 ReMIX, Kingdom Hearts HD II.8 Final Chapter Prologue, and Kingdom Hearts III (including the Re:Mind DLC) will be released as cloud version stream-based titles with a release date not yet announced.

Kingdom Hearts HD I.5 + II.5 ReMIX was originally released as two separate bundles for PlayStation 3 before being combined for releases on PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and PC. It includes the following titles:

  • Kingdom Hearts Final Mix
  • Kingdom Hearts RE:Chain of Memories 
  • Kingdom Hearts 358/2 Days (remastered HD cutscenes)
  • Kingdom Hearts II Final Mix
  • Kingdom Hearts Birth By Sleep Final Mix
  • Kingdom Hearts RE:coded (remastered HD cutscenes)

Kingdom Hearts HD II.8 Final Chapter Prologue was originally released for PlayStation 4 before later being released on Xbox One and PC. It includes:

  • Kingdom Hearts Dream Drop Distance HD
  • Kingdom Hearts 0.2 Birth By Sleep -A Fragmentary Passage-
  • Kingdom Hearts χ Back Cover (movie)

Kingdom Hearts III was released for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One in 2019 with a PC version released earlier this year.

In addition, Square Enix announced that players can now view the entire story of mobile title Kingdom Hearts Union χ [Cross] through an offline theater mode, while the final chapter of the Kingdom Hearts Dark Road mobile title will be released this winter. Both games are available in the joint Kingdom Hearts Union χ Dark Road app. Square Enix also revealed multiple pieces of Kingdom Hearts merchandise planned to release in 2022.



Alex Fuller

Alex joined RPGamer in 2011 as a Previewer before moving onto Reviews, News Director, and Managing Editor. Became Acting Editor-in-Chief in 2018.

You may also like...

Leave a Reply