From Gaiden to Mujula to Majora : The many Masks of Zelda

Nintendo Power Source has reported that the long awaited sequal to the N64's Legend of Zelda : The Ocarina of Time will undergo a name change for it's release in the West. Initially known as Gaiden, the game underwent a subtitle change and was revealed as The Mask of Mujula. The name will stick in Japan, but NOA now officially know the title as The Legend of Zelda : Majora's Mask.

The game requires the 4Mb RAM expansion pak and is set for release this May in Japan, and following in Fall for the West, Majora's Mask will follow on from where The Ocarina of Time left off.

The game takes place after The Ocarina of Time, and uses more or less the same game engine. Action takes place in an alternate dimension from Hyrule. Characters that were good in The Ocarina of Time are now said to be evil counterparts, and vice verca. How this works remains to be seen. The most interesting thing however is mentioned in the title. Masks. Link can now use a massive variety of masks, up to 20, to change his appearance and skills. For instance he can change to a Goron, a Zora, and even the annoying Deku Scrubs. Each serves it's purpose with a range of abilities and skills that open up upon donning the mask. Music still features throughout the game, Link still has his trusty Ocarina and each mask allows Link to use the Musical abilities of the creature he turns into.

Although Majora's Mask not a full blown sequal as such (Zelda designer Shigeru Miyamoto is not working on it for one thing) Majora's Mask is still highly anticipated being a Zelda game, and stands high and proud on many a Gamers wish list and might even better the mighty Ocarina of Time. As the release nears more information will be released, and will be there.

by John Hynd    
Source: [Nintendo Power Source]
© 1998-2017 RPGamer All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy